2020 228 on the Monterey Bay

luckydude

Reaction score
Website
mcvoy.com
Model
Seafarer
Hi, bought my 228 right before the shelter in place. It was a saga, I wanted a brand new boat, I was buying my 2nd boat 2nd, got burned on boat #1.

And I'm new to boats, I've fished on the ocean for a while, this is my 3rd year, but it is my first year with a boat that works that I'm running. So it has been a steep learning curve. Each time I think I have things figured out, I find some new thing that I don't know and feel like an idiot yet again. But I'm figuring it out and I'm taking my younger son with me, he loves to fish, and he makes launching and docking easy. That's a good way to define my skill level, I have launched by myself with no trouble, I have not docked by myself, I've tried, some kind soul saw me struggling and helped me dock. I'll get there.

I have learned a lot, a 228 is not like a Triumph at all, you need to learn how to trim the engine, use the tabs, it's a more complicated boat but as you learn that stuff the boat becomes more and more fun. The more I run the boat, the more I like it. 228s are popular for a reason.

I have a web page that has all my boat stuff on it, the pics below are from that, feel free to check it out:

Enough rambling, how about some pics?
boat-228.jpg2020-07-20-11.57.26.jpg2020-07-20-09.23.16.jpg2020-07-20-09.02.39.jpg2020-07-03-12.12.54.jpg

RussGW270

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Amazing catches and pics! If I could buy new, I would in a heartbeat.. heh... no need to Only problem I see... need more pictures and more fish! lol If I had my choice.. I'd have a new 330 express.. ;) Those 228's, clearly, are the best all-around boat. I figured docking out.... don't sweat the docking.. lol.. that is what I figured.. :p