Breakaway Anchor

Hookup1

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Does anyone have experience with the breakaway anchor setup? I bend at least one Danforth each year in Florida. This year I lost the anchor and chain - could not get it out and cut it off. Switched to the Bruce claw. Two feet of chain, two 175 lb tywraps. We will see!

Last summer I installed the Five Oceans pivoting anchor roller. Ignore the unfinished glass work - can't seem to get a glass guy to do small jobs. Roller works great.

Breakaway anchor.jpg

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
I have no personal experience with it, but I've read about it/heard about it for years. I would imagine you'd need to replace the zip ties every so often as "maintenance"? I don't know if I could handle that maintenance cost, though... :)

Pulpit... spray the thing with some slightly off-white Rustoleum. It'll be good enough that you may find you forget about it! When/if you do get a gel guy, it'll sand off easy/quickly enough.

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
I use that method with some success with a claw and also with re-bar grapples. You have to have proper scope to keep it from popping if there are waves.
You have to have some slack in the zip tie. Don't zip the chain too tight to the anchor stock or you won't be able to pop it. I've used mono fishing line in place of a zip tie also.
I recommend that you normally use a second shackle(or carabiner) where the zip tie is and only use the ziptie when you are fishing. That way if you have to emergency anchor, you are not on a zip tie.

Sometimes the chain is what gets stuck and you are screwed.

glacierbaze

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
I think a lot of divers have a pretty good collection of anchors. If you engrave your phone number into it, you might get lucky if the right person finds it.