Newbie propeller question - 252G

BostonHack

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to boating and I just bought my first boat, a 1989 252g Sailfish. The props look like they're 14.5" x 15 and are a little banged up and "can't be reconditioned". At WOT, one 200hp engine spins at 5900 and the other at 6000 (I read they're supposed to be at 5500).

Someone in town is selling a pair of reconditioned 13.75 x 17 black stainless for $100. It sounds like a great deal, but don't know if I should be looking at new props for $700 (and don't know what to get if I were)? With gas prices being what they are - I'm looking to minimize fuel consumption.

I welcome any and all advice.

Cheers,

John

BobP

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Welcome! Nice boat, the legendary "Sailfish". Plenty of other members with late 80's Sailfish.

What engines do you have?

The WOT range for 2 strokes is under 5500 usually. Between 5000 and 5500, the closer to 5500 the better. Others can correct me.

Are your two props alum or stainless?

Grog

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
15's are too small of a pitch for you. For a $100 grab the 17's (they are a pair of counter rotating?), it'll get your RPM's down to around 5500-5600 and give you better milage too.

BostonHack

Reaction score
BobP said:
Welcome! Nice boat, the legendary "Sailfish". Plenty of other members with late 80's Sailfish.

What engines do you have?

The WOT range for 2 strokes is under 5500 usually. Between 5000 and 5500, the closer to 5500 the better. Others can correct me.

Are your two props alum or stainless?

Thank you for the comments. I've been reading this forum now for two weeks and have gotten lots of good info. I'm sure I'll be a regular reader.

She has 1988 200hp ETXG 2-stroke engines (on a 1989 boat..? "She came that way...") My current (and prospective) props are stainless and are LH/RH if that helps.