Possibly going to buy

Madhatter0

Reaction score
Hello all just getting on the forum here looking at buying a 1989 23 gulfstream with twin 150 Yamahas 2000 on the bracket. started and ran fine compression 120 to 115 Did the first inspection yesterday moving forward to sea trials on sat any thing I should look for here some things I noted already on the transom a strong back was installed were the bracket was mounted. I'm assuming to help minimize stress and prolong life. One gauge was broken for fuel consumption. Also the deck just forward of the transom midship was soft opened the hatch and it was a void space. Onwer said thats normal is that correct?Every thing else seemed pretty good. Asking 18k what do you all think. I have lots of experience with CC but not alot with walkaround

Attachments

• 00909_kzjFP8NfvpO_600x450.jpg
    00909_kzjFP8NfvpO_600x450.jpg
    19.8 KB · Views: 46
  • 00N0N_jFpkKtKj4gJ_600x450.jpg
    00N0N_jFpkKtKj4gJ_600x450.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 46
  • 01111_8lnHhvQkUAP_600x450.jpg
    01111_8lnHhvQkUAP_600x450.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 45

Fishtales

Reaction score
If you can swing it, get a survey. Could be ok, could be a boat with a lot of issues. Transom, stringer and soft decks are the things to look for.

suzukidave

Reaction score
those compression numbers sound solid.

you are right on the edge of a boat big enough/ costly enough to justify a survey i think. your call.

by void space do you mean the centre bilge coffin areas (below the main deck) covered by large hatches? grady divides this bilge into compartments and the fuel tank layouts varied. it is normal i think for those hatches covers to get a little soft over time. you can brace them from underneath pretty effectively using treated lumber, or you can remove and recore the hatch if necessary.

i would check the anchor locker area and make sure the bow eye is not letting moisture in that is causing dry rot.