Salty dogs and why I love this forum

luckydude

Reaction score
Website
mcvoy.com
Model
Seafarer
I get on my local California forum some, truth be told I hang here more. But since I'm very new to running a boat, less than 6 months, I get on the local forum and I make it clear that I know nothing. I want to learn. Should be fine, right?

Some dude on the forum gave me crap and said I was trying to take shortcuts, I should just put on my big boy pants and go learn. Which I have been doing, I can launch alone, I can dock alone, I can take you out and put you on fish and I'll get you home. So screw that dude. He would judge me if I went out with no experience, and he's judging me for asking for help. I love all the help I have gotten here and there.

You guys have been so welcoming, I'm internet friends with magicbill (and I love that). I sort of didn't expect that, Gradys are expensive, I thought it would be entitled jerks. It's been nothing like that, it's a combo of people who have made money but don't want to flaunt it and other younger dudes that pull a 20 year or 30 year old grady apart and rebuild it. Both types are people who have managed to do stuff.

I did not expect this, I thought I was buying a reliable boat, and I did. But the community has been beyond cool. I'm very happy to be here and hang with all of you, you guys are great.

I might waxing eloquent a bit more than normal, I went out today and pulled the first crab pots I've dropped. Got 9 dungys. Did that with my kid, it was yet another great day in our Grady. I might be a Grady snob :)

PDX-Boats

Reaction score
These days I think everyone needs to be friendlier and more patient with one another.
Glad you are having good luck here.

Fishtales

Reaction score
^^^ This. No experts here, we're all learning and sharing. No question is a dumb one. My belief is to influence and address what you can control and let the rest pass by. We all started at the same place at one time. Good luck with the new boat.