Simrad Autopilot

Brian F

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
1
Likes
0
Points
1
Age
66
Grady White Model
Express 330
#1
Recently purchased a 2011 GW Express 330. All works great except for the Simrad AP24 autopilot. Cannot get the head on the console to power up and pretty certain it is a power problem. Embarrassingly, I am unable to locate the autopilot computer. Have removed the 3 panels, forward, starboard and port in the aft stateroom as well as the dash plate where the Yamaha instrument is located.
Where should I look next?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
16
Likes
3
Points
3
#2
check your power distribution on the 12 volt side may have a spare for the AP or on the dash switches
most are wired on an on-off switch or breaker
 

Doc Stressor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
733
Likes
45
Points
28
Location
Homosassa, FL
Grady White Model
Seafarer
#3
The AP24 dash unit gets its power from the Simnet drop cable. You need to find your Simnet backbone first and check the T-fitting. The dash unit should power up without the computer. Check the power connection to the backbone. Your computer is also connected to the backbone via another T-connector. You should be able to locate the computer by following its drop cable.

AP24 Manual
 
Last edited:

everwhom

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
195
Likes
6
Points
18
Location
Cape Cod and Nantucket
#4
Wish it were standard practice to attach a laminated card somewhere that documents all the locations. I had a very hard time finding my autopilot control unit as well...

On mine it was under the livewell (maybe not the greatest location come to think of it) and accessible by removing the tackle box storage unit.
 

Bayhouse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
75
Likes
2
Points
8
#5
Wish it were standard practice to attach a laminated card somewhere that documents all the locations. I had a very hard time finding my autopilot control unit as well...

On mine it was under the livewell (maybe not the greatest location come to think of it) and accessible by removing the tackle box storage unit.
Is that the factory install location?
 

wspitler

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
306
Likes
12
Points
18
Location
Inglis, FL
#7
My AP computer is behind the AC/DC switch panel in the cabin. I believe most electronics installations are done by dealers and not Grady.