Trailer Bearings

Double Eagle

Reaction score
Does any one have any advice on trailer bearings?? I am in fresh water only. My trailer has grease fittings right in the end of the axles. You pull a little rubber plug and grease these fittings. Today I pulled my wheels only to find chunks of grease around the inside of the rim on all four wheels. I was told to pump grease into the fitting until it started to come out the dust cap hole and then replace the rubber cap. Can't understand why it came out of my grease seals, the seals are a double lip deal made for this type of set up ( putting grease in the end of the Axel) Has any one had any experience with this type of bearings and seals or had any problems.

Amigo

Reaction score
DE

I worked in the industrial bearing industry for 30 years. Sounds like you bought a used unit. I have bought a few used trailers. Tthe wheel bearings are the first things I check.

For some folks, when lubricating, they think" if a little bit is good a whole lot is better". From the way you describe the application the only place excess grease can exit is through the back seals. Pressure will build inside the hub with the heat that will build up. Typically, lip type seals will only hold about 5 pounds of pressure - or less.

I also have similar hubs on my boat trailer. Yearly I remove the hub cap and inspect. If there is any sign of water/moisture a rebuild is in order. Sometimes water will run out and sometimes the grease will be a white or gray color indicating moisture mixed into the grease.

Amigo

Reaction score
Further thought -

If you remove the hub from the axel and take a good look at the bearigs, - and I would urge you to do so - if you see spalling on the bearing surface obviously they would be replaced. However, if you see dark stains on the raceway surfaces or on the rollers the bearing should also be replaced. This is "moisture" stain and spalling will eventually occur directly on the stains.