Wiring radar to fuse panel

quantase

Reaction score
I’m planning to install the Garmin fantom and a heading sensor. I’m new to wiring on boats, but not in homes. I see on my panel (bluesea system -12) that each slot is taken up besides on the side near the negative. I’m wondering where to hook up the radar power cord (with the inline 7.5A fuse) to. I’ve attached a pic for people to view and offer guidance. I would also like to put the radar on a toggle switch at the helm as well so that I can turn it off and on and not have the radar on continuous, so any guidance in doing that with pics would be helpful! Thanks!

Attachments

• EE02524D-A18C-4D41-8852-6F79D796B6A4.jpeg
    EE02524D-A18C-4D41-8852-6F79D796B6A4.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 48

Hookup1

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
I just installed my GMR18 Fathom. I cut the power cord to the correct length and wired directly into the fuse block (ring terminals). If there are no open fuses on your fuse block splice the inline fuse back on and use ring connectors to go directly to the large power and ground.

If you are using a SteadyCast heading sensor that connects to the NEMA2000 buss which supplies power as well as data connections. Same for the GPS24xd.

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
The radar does not need a switch. The menu on your Garmin mfd will have a Xmit on/off. The default state is Standby.
If you have no power to your radar the Garmin network will not know you have a radar. So if you use a switch you won't see any radar menus unless you have the power switch on.

You should have a switch on the Main feed to your under-dash fuse panel. That would turn EVERYTHING off. That could be the Battery switch in your setup. Ideally you would have a switchable on/off/breaker.

You can run the power cables (with 7.5A inline fuse on positive) directly to the main feed (Red and Black)of the fuse panel.