'99 Yamaha 225hp OX66 issues

johnnyboy

Reaction score
Hey guys. Just finished fixing the other problem i was having with my motor and have a new one. I just bought this boat a few months ago for those of you who dont know and its obvious I should service the engine to ensure im running with up to date maintenance.

We went out fishing on Sunday and boat started no problem, except, when the port engine is running, you see a small gasoline trail behind it in the water.

As we exited and went for an hour ride, we had trouble restarting the engine. She would crank but we couldnt get it to start. Finally got it started, drove home and as we were pulling in low throttle, she died out and wouldnt come back.

Anyone have any ideas?

My initial ideas and what im going to address first: new spark plugs and motor mounted fuel filter...

Also, I hear alot about ringfree, do you guys use it?

Thanks for all the help early on as I get used to an outboard, im a big newbie!! :<><

dgreen1069

Reaction score
I am new to these engines, but am fairly mechanical. I just completely serviced both of my 2000 OX66 250's. One thing I have learned is that these motors are relatively easy to work on, and most of their issues can be traced to fuel related issues.

Your engine has 3 low pressure fuel pumps on the port side of the engine. They are one on top of the other and have fuel lines attached to their tops and bottoms. Each one is held on by two screws. Remove the screws so they dangle by their fuel lines. Pump the fuel bulb and see if any gas comes out of any of them (usually from the backside). If you see any fuel, the pump has gone bad. They are around $50 a piece. If one is bad, I'd replace all three.....they are prone to failure.

grady33

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Express 330