Advice on GW purchase...

Johnyrude200

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
Im looking at a 22 Seafarer mid 80’s outboard model. I have not owned any GW’s before, just Whalers and Wahoo’s.

I learned my lesson the hard way with my first Whaler being so water logged it had about 800 lbs of water soaked in from poor care.

What are some things to look for in these boats that are red flags beyond the obvious soft floor/transom inspection?

The boat Im going to look at seems in decent shape but Ive already gone to look at 3 other boats where only in-person inspection showed how big of turds they were and that the sellers were F.O.S. Over the phone wasting my time.

Im an outboard mechanic so Im not worries about evaluating the motor, got that side and the trailer covered already.

Appreciate any and all recommendations for review

seasick

Reaction score
Note that the hull is not SeaV2. The ride will be a lot different than a later model..
There is a real good chance that the fuel tank needs replacement if it is original. That's hard to tell if leaks are small sine they usually start on the underside of the tank. Pull off the inspection plates and smell. You shouldn't really smell gas but it is possible that the hoses are leaky/porous. In addition, take a look at the sender flange for evidence of leaks or corrosion.
Check the steering for play, how much you have to turn the wheel before the motor starts to move.
You can try the controls for throttle and shift but it is not advisable to shift, especially into reverse without the motor running or someone manually turning the prop while you shift.
All boats are subject to possible water intrusion and that can lead to stringer rot. Again, that is hard to see often a soft deck may mean that the sub assembly is shot.Check the cabin for mold and signs of water leakage.
Check the windscreen, they are expensive to replace or to find for that matter.
Locker lids and covers are prone to rotting but can be rebuilt or replaced.