Anchor line strength

Blackbird

Reaction score
I just bought a 2005 283 Release and obviously, the previous owner did not spend much time at anchor. I'm planning to replace the anchor line and am wondering what the best line size would be. I anticipate anchoring in water as deep as 100 feet and the smaller the line, the more I'll be able to store. The boat weighs about 9000#. 3/8 inch diameter line shows a tensile strength of about 3500# and 1/2 inch is about 7000#. This is no place to cut corners but I also don't want overkill. Any advice.

Thanks

John Beach

Tuna Man

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I reccomend you use a quality 3/8" three strand rode rope. Unless you plan on regularly anchoring in a storm with 40mph plus winds and heavy seas, you should be fine. I am no expert on the subject, but I have fished with boats in the canyons that were roughly 14,000 pounds (31' Blackfin with tower and twin diesels for example) that had no problems with 3/8 rope. The key is a long length of chain between the anchor and the rode. For 100' of water I would prefer 30' feet of chain but 20' should surfice. I am sure others would not head out with any less than 5/8" rope on your boat, but that is total overkill in my opinion. I have a 30' marlin and plan on purchasing two 600' lengths of high quality 3/8" rope in the next few weeks for my boat for overnight trips to the canyons.

BobP

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
I think you overstated the boat weight, considerably. Check the number.

You may want to consider 1/2 or 7/16 inch, too.

A longer than typical chain section will save you from storing additional length nylon.

White Horses (Mike)

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I guess you do not have a windlass to worry about? If you do, I think you would want to fit the chain and rode to the windlass. I'm no expert here - I only dream of having a windlass.