Batteries

Southern Hunter

Reaction score
Ok guys my batteries sometimes do some crazy things...so here is a very dumb question for you? Explain my battery setup to me...I have 4 batts and always run the starboard motor on 1 on the switch and run the port on 2 on the switch. When running the switch selector on 1 is it using 2 of the 4 batts or just 1 of the 4 and the other two are house batteries with the opposite engine running on the last battery?? My setup confuses me...im not really good with batteries if you can't already tell? Somebody explain the setup to me?

megabytes

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I believe the 305 is setup the same way as the 300. Assuming that is true it works like this.

o 2 banks (1 and 2)
o 2 parallel batteries per bank
o 2 engines (stbd and port)
o electronics buss runs off the stbd engine

You basically assign a battery bank to an engine. I typically switch so that one day I run bank 1 to stbd and the next day run bank 2 to stbd.
Make sense?

Capt Bill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Bama96 said:
So should the charger be a 2 bank or a 4 bank? We should be charging with the switches in the "off" position correct?

2 batterys in parallel=1 bank, so a 2 bank charger is what is needed. Battery switches may be on or off during charging, but normally off, if shorepower is left connected and boat unattended.

Bama96

Reaction score
Capt Bill said:
Bama96 said:
So should the charger be a 2 bank or a 4 bank? We should be charging with the switches in the "off" position correct?

2 batterys in parallel=1 bank, so a 2 bank charger is what is needed. Battery switches may be on or off during charging, but normally off, if shorepower is left connected and boat unattended.

2 Bank 10amp per?

Capt Bill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
A 10A charger will eventually work, but I would prefer something at least 30A, or even 50A, for faster recovery of high-capacity battery banks.

BobP

GreatGrady Captain