Eisenglass storage

Bdsp1234

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
This is my first year having glass. Do you guys leave it on and shrink wrap, or remove/store and then shrink wrap ?

Rustygaff

Reaction score
All of my canvas come off the boat before shrink wrapping. I would not be comfortable blasting the shrink with the heat gun with isenglass right under it. Also, it gives me a chance to clean and polish the glass over the winter.

seasick

Reaction score
It is usually better to store the canvas assuming it will be subject to less extreme conditions. It can get pretty hot under shrink wrap but it can also get hot in an attic. Either way should clean the 'glass' with fresh water ( and very mild soap if really dirty) to get any debris off.You can apply a treatment made specifically for your glass to help keep the protective coating in good shape. Plexus is one option. I use Aerospace 303 protectant. Make sure its the protectorant and not the waterproofer or upholstery treatment. The panels should be rolled not folded and should have a protective layer of material to keep the plastic from coming in contact with itself. Old bed sheets work well.
If you need something else to do, get some lubricant ( I use zipper lube) and treat the zippers and snaps

Ky Grady

GreatGrady Captain
Staff member
Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
I don't shrink wrap but my canvas comes off and is cleaned and stored flat in my basement on a table. I wash and use IMAR cleaner/protectant and polish.
20191124_101452.jpg

seasick

Reaction score
The Imar products are the only ones that Strataglass approves for use on Strataglass. Otherwise the warranty is voided. Stuff is a bit pricey though. Worth it on non Strataglass? I don't know.

I forgot to mention one important thing for all clear vinyl. Do NOT USE RAINX ever...

Legend

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish