ethanol gas

mistymorn

Reaction score
Thanks, gradyfish22. I did get a ton of water..so perhaps I did get some bad gas. What do you think of gradually adding 15 or so gals of ethanol to the system. :?: as I said the dealer said that they are using a different formulation :?:

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I was told by my mechanic to run my tank down low, then add the fuel. He did not give me a good enough answer as to why to do this, but I did it to be safe, and had no issues with the switch over, I ran my tank down to about 1/4, maybe a little less, but more then 1/8 of a tank and then filled it completely with the new fuel. I think it was more of a precaution then anything. Not sure what would happen if you mixed it in slowly, possibly not much but I'm not an expert in fuel's. It probably is just a slightly different amount of ethanol in the fuel, or it may be from a new distributor that may have new additives. I'd think as long as you are adding star tron and ring free you should be fine, hopefully others will chime in and maybe some may know reasons why not to do this, but I cannot think of any.

mistymorn

Reaction score
Thanks again...you make perfect sense....It is a shame that this junk has been forced doun our throats....but...oh well...life will go on....Boat safely!

JUST-IN-TIME

Reaction score
Grog said:
To be honest I think it was more hype than actual problems with the ethanol. Use good 10 micron filters and have fun. It does eat at the fuel pumps so plan on changing them.

yeper

10% or less alcohol is fine for marine fuel rubber

any more they will do metal
im glad my grady is metal until water seperator!!
cept fuel fill and vent :shock:

eppem

Reaction score