First trip to the Vineyard

SCW

Reaction score
Model
Freedom 275
We picked a great day, almost no wind but it was a bit foggy on our way over, left at about 8:30AM. We left from Osterville used Navionics automatic route, worked out well. It did seem to send us around some shoals but I see most boats just take a direct route. We got a mooring at Oak Bluffs and took the launch in. No charge for the mooring, $8 a head roundtrip for the launch. All real easy. I am still learning but this was a lot of fun.

Attachments

• IMG_3016.jpg
    IMG_3016.jpg
    504.6 KB · Views: 96
Reactions: GypsyRover

root

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
Who did you get the mooring from for free? Glad you had a good time.

SCW

Reaction score
Model
Freedom 275
Oak Bluffs Marina. Moorings are first come first served no reservations. Hailed them on CH. 71 They said just grab a mooring marked "TOWN". If they are all full you have to raft with someone else. Like I said $8 a head round trip for launch so for family of 5 "Free mooring" is relative.

kirk a

Reaction score
Model
Express 330
Yeah, it is a nice option, and convenient launch. Actually that was the "mistake" I made last year that started the wheels going on getting into the 330. We had gone over in my Mako 23, did the day trip thing, and my wife and daughter were so impressed that you could stay on the boat overnight. "Why can't we do that?" Not feasible in a 23, but a 33 is no prob!

Revisited Oak Bluffs over the 4th of July with a boatfull of people. Great time. Not as sure about coming from Osterville, but from Waquoit, there is not really anything to worry about shoalwise between there and MV. I recall some rocks near Osterville from years ago, though.

MashpeeMan

Reaction score