five blade props

jekyl

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I have been considering new props as my current Yamaha 17" pitch x 15 1/4" diam won't allow my 200hpdi's to rev out to 5600 lightly loaded. Max revs is 5300rpm.
I have been getting quotes from the US as props are exorbitant here in OZ.
Has anyone got anything good or bad to say about Hill propellors. specifically their 5 blade which is what has been recomended by their people?

ocnslr

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Is that 5300 WOT with the engines trimmed out until just before the props ventilate?

Are you comfortable with the engine mounting height? Most manufacturers and dealers tend to mount them too low, to avoid complaints about blow-out in turns.

I have no experience with five-blade props on outboards (on Spruance class destroyers....), but my gut reaction is "no-way". Have also never heard of the props you mention, and I have read a LOT about propping boats.

I have had great success with PowerTech props. When we had the single 250HP OX66 on our Islander I did a lot of prop evaluation, and eventually went with a four blade - the OFS4-17. We had been running the 15.25x17" SWS prop, and were still able to make RPMs at WOT with the four-blade PT props.

We've had the F150s for over three years (735 hours) and were running the recommended "Black SS" 13.75x17". Tried several alternates, and went with PowerTech OFS series again. This time in 16" pitch, with some cup added by the local prop shop.

Brian

Curmudgeon

Reaction score
Put a stock 15" on it and don't look back. Should also get you closer to max (optimum) when loaded, too ... :wink:

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score