Fuel Before Winter Layup

usmm1234

Reaction score
Model
Express 330
You should drain carburetor bowls and VSTs during prolonged storage. Since they are open to air, the fuel will eventually evaporate leaving varnish on the dry surfaces.

Some anti-corrosion additives work better than others. Since the industry won't allow testing by independent labs, we have to rely on experience and word of mouth recommendations.

Fuel injectors seem to go out of spec pretty often when boats are not run regularly. It's just the nature of small orifices.

StaBil has been on the market for 60 years. I’ve been using it in my car collection for 25 years. Seems to do the job. They probably all have the same stuff in them? You can buy Lucas fuel conditioner by the Gal which is a deal when you have 350 gal tanks.

Doc Stressor

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
Most all use similar chemistries for the most part. Anti-oxidants and metal inactivators slow down fuel oxidation. But they seem to use different anti-corrosion approaches. For example, the "plus" in the Yamaha additives are filmers that bind to soft metal surfaces and block corrosion. These were originally used in the automotive applications to prevent corrosion of fuel level sensors until E10 was re-formulated. There are several different filmer chemistries that are used in the oil field and refining industries. Some are more effective than others. You never know what you're getting with a particular brand of fuel stabilizer.

usmm1234

Reaction score
Model
Express 330