Getting ready to pull the trigger on a 257, looking for input and thoughts

Sloose

Reaction score
Model
Fisherman 257
Hi everyone!

I'm a former professional boat captain/former Parker owner/soon-to-be-former hardcore kayak fisherman/likely soon to be Grady owner.

I have been in love with the 257 ever since i first saw one up close when I had my parker...About 10 years in the slip directly facing mine was a beautiful 257 grady with twin 150s. I *loved* my 25 foot parker but it was not nearly as fast as I wanted and it rode like crap in a head sea. I knew love at first sight. (Don't tell my wife)

I've since sold my Parker, moved to fishing kayaks so i could fish in places no boat can reach, and now, i am not getting any younger and I want to fish in places that no kayak can reach. Fishing in a big pedal drive hobie is nice but i'm a hardcore bottom fisherman and I love nothign more than getting over a sticky piece of bottom and losing sinkers and occasionally an anchor...and it's just not really practical in a kayak.

I am looking at a kind of ...spread...of 257s. I am not really a bluewater offshore guy but i'm a boat guy and i like two sticks. So it has to be twin engine. I want it to have a trailer so i can yank it from my marina and pull it home in the winter / hurricanes etc. Bottom paint or clean bottom is not important - rack storage and wet slips are about the same price in my area.

There's not a lot of 257s on the market, and I can wait it out until the right one comes along, but what i'm currently looking at is:

Mid 2000s (2005-2008) advance 257, twins 150s in sub 800 hour range that are well maintained with good electronics and no big defects w/ trailer ...market seems to be in the 50s and 60s on these with some crazy pants people listing them for 80+
Mid 2010s (2014 - 2016) fisherman 257, twin 200s in sub 500 hour range that are VERY well maintained, modern electronics and no defects, most have trailers. Market seems to be in the 100-110 range.