Help Please!

mrmud73

Reaction score
I have been restoring a 1982 204c Overnighter for the past three years. the boat was poorly maintained and was kept in the Toms River for years without ever coming out of the water. The boat is now only going to be in fresh water back in Pennsylvania for good. The boat was completely rotted but has since been restored except the transom. :bang There aren't any visible cracks on the inside or outside with only a few bolt holes.The boat finish on the transom is in very good shape. Can someone tell me if i should cut and repair the back of the boat with new marine plywood or use the pourable seacast product. Thanks alot! :hmm

seasick

Reaction score
The problem with using a filler like Seacast is that it is very dificult to remove the old rotten wood and / or to get to all of the rotten wood. You need to determine the extent of the rot and go from there.

mrmud73

Reaction score
The boats condition would fool anyone from it's appearance, but the rot is so severe from the outboard bolt holes to the scupper drain
fittings that the wood core is not much more than wet saw dust.

seasick

Reaction score
I don't think you can get to all the transom from the inside since there are two lockers and the motor well. You will probably have to cut the outside. If you cut carefully and cleanly, you may be able to remove the panel in one large piece and reuse it. Whether that is worth the effort, I can't say.

BobP

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Irrespective of using sheet material or pour it, the same prep applies so it bonds properly to existing glass.

If you do sheet from the outside it is much less work.

Sheet material namely marine plywood and epoxy resin done right is permanenet and the most cost effective when doing it yourself.

richie rich

Reaction score