HPDI vs ETEC

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Not sure where your getting your info on fuel efficiency's, out of the other two mentioned engines, it burns the most gas. No to mention it is the loudest. The HPDI is the second loudest and the E-Tec the quietest. Yes Optimax's have improved a ton over their original models which were exceptionally prone to problems. Pricewise the Optimax will be cheaper and the DTS system is a nice system. Honestly who cares about the looks..buying an engine for looks?....ridiculous!! I work in the marine industry and have extensive knowledge of many manufacturers and their products. Engines should be bought for whats under the cowling, or for what the buyer is comfortable with running on their boat. Like many have said before, the most important thing these days is what dealership/brand you, the buyer are most comfortable with. We can all debate what engine is better, but honestly we are all partial to our own brands even if we claim we are not. All of these engines in the end are good engines but it seems like some posting on this are SALESMEN trying to sell a particular brand. Instead of selling one product, give the pros and cons of your experience with each motor, or of friends who have them so that this buyer can make the right choice for himself. We are not buying this engine, HE is. Good luck with the repower sinclair. Let us know what you choose and how it comes out.

Grog

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
They've all been our for a while.
Parts are more common but oil?
What do you see more of at marinas? (It isn't black)
Some of the things I've heard about DTS, I don't think I want it.
They do have nice props and you just match the hubs.
They're all overpriced but it's what the market will bear.