Hydraulic steering a little stiff, normal or not?

Captain TJ

Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
So we have our new to us Sailfish with twin 250 Yami's on her. After a long day on the water my shoulders hurt for a week plus due to the workout of turning the wheel back and forth to maintain course in rough water. The steering feels a little too stiff for what we have but I have no prior experience with twin outboards. We don't power assist but it's like a seastar hydraulic system I believe. My big boat with the same steering system but turning rudders is 10+ times easier to turn. It does not seem to require excessive turns of the wheel for full turn either direction so it doesn't appear to have air in the system.

Is this common on a sailfish or should I be looking for a kinked line somewhere? We love our boat and I'm getting to know her as I work out some of the kinks of a new used boat.

Also going to be looking into autopilot within the next year so noiw I have to start researching the options for that as well. I will want to go with Furuno to match my plotter combo unit.

seasick

Reaction score
It shouldn't be that hard to turn. Is it a lot harder to turn in one direction as opposed to the opposite direction? Does the wheel shudder at all when turning?

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
quick check...disconnect motors from steering and see if they move VERY easily by hand. Fingers crossed they move easy...
The grease in the swivel bracket can dry up and bind especially the top. Once it does, your new grease never gets to the bushing. If its a problem, you have to dissolve out the old grease with WD40 or the like. Remove the zerk fittings and spray and wiggle... drill a hole and add a zerk up top too. I did that on my 20 yr old Yammies and difference was dramatic.. Regrease from bottom until grease come out top...if it doesn't, grease in the new top zerk.