MY 23 GULFSTREAM

USSBATHTUB

Reaction score
Model
Gulfstream
HI I'M JOEY AND I'M NEW TO THIS I PURCHASED A 2005 23 FT WALK A ROUND GULF STREAM LAST AUGUST AND I'M HAVING A LIL PROBLEM REACHING THE C COCKS IN THE BILGE I'M OLD AND FAT ( HA HA ) I CAN NOT REACH THE 2 OF THEM IN THE BILGE. CAN ANYONE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE TO MAKE MY PROBLEM EASIER. I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT THANK YOU, JOEY.... OH IF POSSIBLE PLEASE SEND ME AN E MAIL I READ MY E MAILS ALMOST EVERY DAY IF YOU HAVE ANY IDEAS @ USSBATHTUB@AOL.COM THANK YOU AGAIN

Denko

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Gulfstream
You could consider having someone drill the ends of the handles and add rods that ended under the seat access, I've seen that on models with a deeper bilge...

Reactions: SmokyMtnGrady

USSBATHTUB

Reaction score
Model
Gulfstream
THANK YOU DENNIS, I'M SORRY FOR BEING SUCH AND IDIOT BUT I HAD A 21FT CC FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND NOW ALL THIS BIGGER BOAT STUFF IS NEW TO ME. THE GRADY IS LIKE A BATTLE SHIP COMPARED TO MY CC THANK YOU AGAIN I'VE BEEN LOOKING TO SEE IF THEY MAKE A KIT FOR THAT IF NOT YOUR IDEA IS GREAT THANK YOU I REALLY APPRECIATE IT ....JOEY

Reactions: Denko

grady23

Reaction score
A small trick when backing your Gulfstream if it has a bracket mounted engine. Tilt your motor(s) about 10-15 Degrees so the propwash is pushed under the boat instead of smack uo against the hull.

Bumpye

Reaction score
Hi Joey. I too have a Gulfstream (2003) and had the EXACT same problem as you. Welcome to the old & fat club! I always felt a handle that fit over the lever would work. I was thinking of making my own out of PVC and then I found this product:

https://www.topshelfmarine.com/shop/?product=sea-cock-ball-valve-helper/

This works "wicked pissah". Just make sure the valves/sea cocks are not frozen. The added leverage will break them if they are. I have two of them.

Fishtales

Reaction score