Need help on electronics selection

Grampa Lew

Reaction score
Hi - new Grady owner (1998 Seafarer 228G). This is a great site and previous owner was on here.

Boat has no electronics except for VHF. Looking for electronics advice. I'm a novice but have started researching. Saw some earlier postings on this subject but they are a few years old and I think technology/opinions may have changed? One thing I read loud and clear is bigger is better when it comes to screen size. I guess I was contemplating an 8" or 10". Budget is ~$2,500 - $3k for GPS and sounder. Was looking at Raymarine E80 and Garmin 4210c and similar. Want something I can add radar to later. Also boat does not have a hardtop so I think it ideally needs to fit into the dash electronics box.

Not a big fisher (yet) so GPS is probably more important than FF but I really don't want to compromise on either. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

jehines3

Reaction score
If you don't have a hard top, don't concern too much with a unit that offers radar integration. The cost is generally not worth it for a feature you will have to spend thousands on boat mods to even make a possibility. I'd go for a minimum 7" screen for GPS only. 8" screen if you plan to split screen duty with a FF. The FF is a must on a Grady for bottom contouring and for resale. Most people are buying these rigs to fish and since you fish it is even an asset to you.

I like Garmin products their software has always been intuitive to me. I saw the new Lowrance LCX-28HD and it is really nice and the screen seems large enough. Boatersworld does have the C80 on sale for around $1400 and there is a $200 mail in rebate bringing it close to the Lowrance and it does offer the radar possibility in the future. Don't forget to consider the cost of charts if they are not included in the base unit when comparing. It is a tough call since so many electronics are so good now.

capt chris

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score