New 208 for me?? Maybe

Capt Bill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
She looks good. Make sure you get her surveyed, and check that transom. Those transom-caps are known to leak. What model year?

Heyspike

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
She's a 2000. I would have never gotten a boat surveyed if it was not for this site and the Hull Truth. I am new to this game, is it worth getting a survey on a 2000?
thanks.

Reaction score

I have a 94 208, Saltwater Series 175 Yammy, pulpit but no hardtop.

If you are looking for a boat in that size range, that looks like a very fair deal to me. Get a survey for sure but I would think the seller should be able to move that boat at that price pretty quickly.

Try to determine if the motor has been treated with ring free regularly.

It's a great 20 foot boat and a great rig for 25K IMO.

Let us know what you end up with, please.

Jim from Maine
1994 Adventure 208
1994 Yamaha Saltwater Series 175 :wink:

Capt Bill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
The survey will probably cost you $400-$500, and is money well spent. He will probably save you more than his fee if he finds any problems, and you will have great peace of mind if he doesn't.

Problems can not only be found on a 2000 model year, but even on a new boat. ANything from bilge pumps no working, thru-hulls needing attention or a wet transom due to a bad sealant on the cap. I think you should do it, but I agree with others, that's a great buy on that boat.

BTW, the first Grady that I ever bought was back in 1990, and you guessed it, it was a 204c Overnighter. :D

Heyspike

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
Well I'm going to the boat show in NYC in Dec-Jan, after that I am going to make a decision. I always wanted a walkaround, and then I had seen a small pilot house (C-Dory). Not a bad looking boat, not cheap either! There's a new 2006 Key West WA for $26k in my local boat yard, but it's not a Grady :wink: