Onboard charging system??

MDRookie01

Reaction score
Being new to boating, I am curious about the onboard charging system.. My friend who I have been boating with for the last few years knows nothing about a onboard charging system..

What are the benefits for a onboard charging system? Is it really necessary? Does it depend on how many electrics you are running? For an OB motor, does that charge the batteries at all?

What type of system would you recommend for a 225 Yamaha with two batteries? GPS, possible radar, lights, Radio, CD player.. possbile live well.

Now for the Big questions.. How does a onboard charging system work? You can't charge a batterry with another battery? Sorry I am a newbie and really enjoy getting information.

Fishermanbb

Reaction score
Well....When the engine is running it charges the batteries and should provide plenty of juice to run what you have listed.

When the engine is off the batteries are draining unless you have them hooked up to a charging source. You have two options:

1. Dockside power - Which will hook to your boat and then you need a battery charger onboard that will charge your batteries. Battery chargers are made for this purpose and I believe Guest makes a pretty good one. You will need to retrofit dockside power to your boat (Add it) unless you already have it. Of course, you could always use an extension cord and a regular trickle charger but this really isn't safe unless the boat is out of the water.

- This method will keep your batteries charged when not in use.

2. You need a generator....Connected to a battery charger. Unless your boat already has a generator (Based on the single engine configuration I'm guessing it doesn't)....The generator can be a small portable type and you could then use a regular trickle charger hooked directly to your batteries.

- This method will keep you going while you are anchored/drifting.