Plastic Fuel Tanks

Greyduk

Reaction score
Has anyone replaced their aluminum tank with a plastic one like the ones made by Moeller?

Fuel Tank.jpg

Reactions: DogBone

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
I haven't done it, but it is something I am leaning towards should the need arise. MANY smaller boats come with plastic tanks from the factory (including most of the boats I've owned) and there seems to be less issues with those, overall.

DogBone

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Gulfstream
Very interested in this thread. I was looking at the same tanks from Moeller. Is there any downside? I assume they can handle Ethanol.

Greyduk

Reaction score
I have had 3 Wellcraft V-20's and a V-21. I went to the V-21 in part because it had a plastic fuel tank. That is a plus in my opinion.

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
I should add that I work in the industry and have seen, literally, thousands and thousands of boats with plastic tanks over the years. The only issues that I can remember seeing are owner-caused issues... such as drilling a hole for mounting a rope hanger into a bulkhead, not realizing the tank was on the immediate other side of the bulkhead, and drilling too far.

That's not to say that they are impervious to issues, but they are definitely much fewer and far between than aluminum.

Yes, ethanol is a non-issue with the tank. Less chance for condensation to build up, too.

RussGW270

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Is there a price difference?

I am seeing the same 150 gallon tanks with prices all over the place, and all the same moeller plastic 150 gallon.

So, I must be looking at the wrong area.

I see some for like 650-ish

R

Ky Grady

GreatGrady Captain
Staff member
Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
My previous boat, Seaswirl Striper 2301 had 125 gallon plastic tank. No issues at all.

image1-5.JPG

Greyduk

Reaction score