Raw Water Washdown Question.

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
To all of you who use your washdown in salt water(which I assume is most of you); how do you keep the unit from crystallizing and corroding when it sits for periods of time unused?
We flush our engines to keep the same salt-oriented deterioration from happening. Is it different with a raw-water pump? If so, why?

Curmudgeon

Reaction score
I have a Shurflo Pro Baitmaster, it's mounted 'motor up' and serves both wash down and baitwell. At the end of the day, I unscrew the inlet fitting and replace with another fitting and short piece of hose. Water hose screws to short hose and flushes the pump and outlet hoses. I also wipe the motor housing down with Corrosion X every spring and fall. A little bit of a pain, but I installed the pump 6 years ... :wink:

SmokyMtnGrady

Reaction score
Magic,
I have wondered this too. My boat spends 80% of its time running lakes and rivers and 20% of its time on the salty brine of the Gulf and Atlantic. I have washed it down after those trips with freshwater but it did not seem to help. We have a dedicated ShureFlow ProBlaster. Last winter I did not completely drain the washdown and it froze and cracked the plastic bottom part so I had to install a new pump because the screws to the assembly housing were so corroded I could not replace the cracked plastic piece.

The boat was just 2 year old when this happend and honestly I thought is this the best Shureflow could do in terms of exterior corrosion on a water pump for a boat? Again, my boat is kept on a trailer under carport out of the elements and sees the ocean a handful times of the year and yet the pump's exterior seems so cheap.

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
Thanks All;