Restoring my newly acquired 1985 240

FreeG-W

Reaction score
The story:
I was operating at a surgical center (I'm a resident ortho surgeon) and the CRNA in the room offered me a free boat. I went and looked at it the next day and it turned out to be a 1985 Grady-White Offshore 240 complete with a 275 hp Evinrude outboard and trailer with working surge brakes. Needless to say I took them up on it...but the boat was neglected. It needs a new floor in the least and probably some deep hull work. I am moving back to MN after residency and this would be a great boat for Superior and Michigan fishing.

The questions:
Has anyone had to completely gut and restore a Grady-White or had it professionally done? Anyone made permanent mods to the boat (ie glassing in the open transom?) How much did it cost and was it worth it? If it was worth it, does anyone know a good and reasonable shop to do it?

gw204

Reaction score
Glassing in an open transom and installing an ouboard bracket will run you at least $5000 to have it done properly. But the cost is highly dependent on the level of finishing, the type and composition of the bracket and the condition of the current transom. But being the boat is a neglected'85, expect the worst.

Talk to Rob over at Raybo Marine. He's done a few Grady and a lot of Makos and can steer you in the right direction...or get the job done for you.

http://www.raybomarine.com/

Another excellent resource is www.classicmako.com. Guys over there are always tearing boats apart and rebuilding them.

Danmac

Reaction score
metan marine

Metane Marine is around the corner from me . Ive seen there seacraft restorations which look showroom new. However a bit of a distance from buffalo to Mass.

FreeG-W

Reaction score