Test drive - stearing seemed a bit odd......?

Zrob

Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to boating so I thought I would check in on this. I test drove a boat today, had a used 130 HP 1995 Envinrude (just rebuilt) new controls not sure though about the steering and it seemed when I would turn the boat would drift off and I would have to keep compensating the wheel every now and then. Is this normal with boats? If not how much is it to replace that on a 19' boat?

Thanks.

mjhillsr

Reaction score
If it drifts in the same direction it may be the rudder/zinc on the lower unit. The can be adjusted to compensate for the drift. The steering will not keep the boat heading in one direction without you keeping control of the steering wheel. I have a 19' tournament and I replaced the steering cable last month. I replaced it with the no feedback cable which will hold the boat on course without much control on my part. The steering is a little more stiff now, but something I will get used to. The old cable broke at the steering box, luckily as I was docking the boat and not at a fast cruise. The cable was aroud 250 dollars. As in all boat related work, their is always a hitch. The motor has to come off to remove the old cable and place the new one. Hope this helps.

Mike

Parthery

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
If you can't get the cable out of the tilt tube, then the motor has to unfortunately come off...

seasick

Reaction score
Zrob said:
Hi guys, I am new to boating so I thought I would check in on this. I test drove a boat today, had a used 130 HP 1995 Envinrude (just rebuilt) new controls not sure though about the steering and it seemed when I would turn the boat would drift off and I would have to keep compensating the wheel every now and then. Is this normal with boats? If not how much is it to replace that on a 19' boat?

Thanks.