The Oil Slick...Kind Of Grady-Related.

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
If someone doesn't dive down and shut off the faucet, the experts say the consequences could be far-reaching.
I would be interested to know the thoughts of Bama96 and other Grady-owners living in the Panhandle stretching to Texas.
You all are close to the situation down there. Does all boating/fishing STOP if and when the oil reaches shore?
With the right winds and the incredible amount of oil continuing to pour into the Gulf they say it could affect Fla. all the way to the Keys and beyond. If it gets into the Stream, it goes up the East Coast.
This is scary to me...Tourisim(swimmers/vacationers) commercial fishing/wildlife..you name it; is affected.
I'm no expert, but I would guess the clean up (WHEN they get it shut down) could be a real challenge, not to mention how incredibly long it would take.

Desperado

Reaction score
Yesterday the shut down commercial and recreational fishing 20+ miles offshore for Miss, Alabama, and the Florida panhandle.

SmokyMtnGrady

Reaction score
This is really sad. We are in May and things are slowly being resolved. The Loop current in the Gulf of Mexico could start to move the oil out of the northern Gulf and possibly into the Keys and beyond. Not sure how diluted it will be or not and in fact I am speculating. I am heading to the Keys for a few weeks this summer to swim and fish ( Assuming my boat is fixed by then :wink: ) but, if they cant cap this bugger soon, it could have impacts down there too.

magicalbill

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Marlin
I am both sad and puzzled about your outboard, Smoky..Beyond that, I guess they are rigging a huge Liberty Bell" type of contraption to lower down and cover the source of the leak. Then, a tube runs from the "crown" of the bell up to the surface, funneling the escaping oil into a container ship on the surface,or something.