Upgrading to a Grady

Darryl

Reaction score
I am considering upgrading to a Grady (never owned one before) and I am considering either a Sailfish 282 or a Express 305.
I am mainly a family cruiser type of person although I have many friends and relatives who love to fish and I would love to take them out. (we live in Florida).
I have my current boat inside on a rack in Dyatona Beach and I am very satisfied with the arrangement and would like to continue to keep the boat out of the water, however, if I get the 305 I cannot put it inside and will have to keep the boat in the water with all the advantages/disadvantages that come with having to keep the boat in the water (hurricanes!).
My question is: If I get the 282 and keep the boat inside, will I regret it later on? Has anyone in this forum travelled on a 282 for any length of time and has found it to be cramped?
I am fairly new to the world of boating and do not want to make a mistake through inexperience on my part.

Much appreciate any input that anyone could provide.

Darryl

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
The 282 is a great boat, traveling will be fine with 4, but I would only overnight with 2-3. The boat handles well for a 28ft boat.
The 305express has more space and creature comforts, and will easily sleep 4 and can cruise with up to 6 in comfort, it has more seating and a more cruiser friendly helm. I also am a big fan of the center helm chair, my 265 Express has it and the view from the helm is great, and makes site while maneuvering much easier.

Up sides to a 282:
It will cost less to buy, and operate
Can be kept indoors
Will not require bottom paint
Has a walkaround which is very safe for getting to the bow
Is easy to operate alone
Can be stored inside
Downsides:
Does not have a lot of helm seating for crusing in numbers
Will only handle like a 28ft boat in nasty seas, a bigger boat will handle better
Has a smaller cramped cabin due to the walkaround