1990 GW 19' Tournament scupper question

rennick75

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm just learning about this 1990 GW Tournament 19 I just purchased.
The scuppers on either side back of the stern seem to be below the water line. I just purchased replacement flaps as the current ones are very old and worn out. Aren't scuppers supposed to be above the water line? I purchased this boat with bottom paint already there and the scuppers are below the bottom paint line. Also, I notice water comes in the boat quickly when launched and surrounds the battery.
I'm hoping the new scupper flaps will help the problem but wondered if anyone here knows what the scupper situation is on a Tournament 19 model. Should it be blocked off instead of having a scupper to prevent the intake of water??
Thanks for the info in advance. -Steve

Toad

Reaction score
Sounds like you are taking on water or have way to much weight in the stern. What is the engine model? You can get the weight from the NADA used boat/motor site. 400 lb. to 450 lb. would be normal weight for a 192 OB.
Do you have an operating bilge pump?
The scuppers are to drain the cockpit by gravity, so they must be above the waterline. On my '95 192 the scuppers are maybe 5" or 6" above the waterline. New scupper flaps will not solve the problem you describe.
If the boat has been sitting for a long time you may have collected bilge water from rain or wash downs through cracks in the deck or missing / worn out O rings around the inspection access covers.
Suggest you get the boat on a trailer or lift. Then open the inspection ports to determine how much liquid is in the bilge. Wait a while before draining the bilge to see if a hull crack shows water leaking out. Could be a bad fitting or plug at the bilge drain.
Hopefully any liquid in the bilge is water vs. fuel. Remove the bilge drain plug and drain the bilge into a large container so you can measure the amount and determine what is necessary for disposal.
Hope the fix is a simple one.