232 Aux Tank clean-out Water in fuel

grady23

Reaction score
I've been fighting a problem with my '97 Gulfstream for abot 3 months now. I've drained, acutally pumped out both tanks and run Seafoam thru both. The problem has been the use of the Aux 56 Gal tank. EVERY Time I switch to this tank I end up with junk in the carbs. I've already pulled and cleaned all 3 carbs aon both engines once and all 3 on the starboard engine a second time. I've discovered today that the pick-ups for the Aux tank are stupidly located in the FRONT on the tank and not the rear as they should be. This means that everytime I pumped the tanks, I was not getting all the water out. The only way I see to accomplish this, is to drop the nose of the boat at least 15 degrees and then let the water settle up in to the front of the tank. Then when I pump the bottome of the tak, I should get ALL the water and not just some of it! This time I will go in thru the fule guage sending unit hole after I have removed the sender.
My question is, WHY would anyone design the main tank p/u different from the Aux tank. The main tank has both pick-ups in the REAR of the tank.

ElyseM

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
as far as the pickup, i don't know for sure, but just because it comes thru the front of the tank doesn't mean it isn't run inside to the back.

i think you are hurting things with the seafoam. that contains alcohol and won't help your cause with e-10. i use stabil with good results. ron

grady23

Reaction score
I used the Seafoam to clean the "Crud" out after the boat had set for 2 seasons and the fule went bad. I even tried using a piece of flexible tubing to reach the 3/8' clear tubing back to the rear of the tan. It seems that there is an internal baffle and I was un-able to reach the rear of the tank.

BobP

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
The baffle is only used in larger tanks, may act as a stiffener/roof support also.

Perhaps the tank was installed backwards ?