Aux. fuel tank not venting properly

Finatic

Reaction score
I'm hoping to get some advice on how to resolve a problem that I'm having with the auxillary fuel tank on my 232 Gulfstream. I purchased the boat in March and I'm still learning all the quirks. I recently discovered that the auxillary tank was not venting properly. I removed the gas cap I could hear the hissing noise caused from the pressure build up in the tank. Additionally, I have heard on 3 different occassions a burping sound coming from the aux tank while underway. I've spoken with Grady's customer service and they recommended that I check to make sure the vent line did not loop under the starboard side fishbox. Also, they stated that it could be pinched or simply too long. I pulled on the vent line and was able to cut off an additional 4-5" of slack. Also, I've disconnected the vent line and blew on the hose. My father was at the filler cap and said he could feel the air. Does anyone have any suggestions about what my next steps should be? I'm very leary about topping the auxillary tank off with the excesss pressure. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Derek

BobP

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Taking out the 5 inches doesn't mean anything.

You are not supposed to top off fuel tanks, not even the one in your lawn mower.

If you do you will slosh fuel into the vent line at the tank nipple and the fuel will act in a way like a seal, not a good one though, otherwise the engine would have stalled by now on high vacuum.
If your vent is low in height relative to the vent nipple on tank, then more issues when fuel gets into the line since there will be more fuel to clear.

Did you follow the line all the way?

I'd suggest you thread a new fuel vent line (5/8 inch) following the old one with some duct tape end to end and replace it, perhaps one of the plys has parted and it's internally collapsed, not likely though, or ot's being crished or crimped along the route.