Barnegat Light Reef - First time boater looking for guidance

B_Darling

Reaction score
Model
Adventure
Hi All,

I am officially the new owner of a 1995 GW Adventure 208 with 2007 f150. For many reasons, I will be keeping my boat at Ocean Beach Marina in Lavallette, NJ (yes, I know, a little far from the inlets). This is my first boat and I am anxious to get out on the water this season and do some cruising with family and most importantly do some fishing. With the understanding that my boat is only 20', is not a rocket ship, and that I am a boating beginner, I am searching for someone in the area who regularly takes the short trip out of the inlet who would not mind buddy boating. Yes, I know, its only a few miles out and some may say I am being too cautious, but I do not want to test myself and my boat for the first time when I am solo. Heck, I am even interested in taking someone else out on my boat if they have a lot of experience and are willing to teach me the ropes of boating and fishing offshore. I will be taking the NJ State police boating safety test this weekend and April can not come fast enough.

Thank you in advance for any advice or feedback or offers.

CJ7Rob

Reaction score
I basically have the same boat (1989 204) and launch out of Mantoloking since 2018. Its a great boat, Barnegat bay can be choppy, partly b/c windy and lots of boat traffic going back and forth. Hit up Tices Schoal for family fun. I've never been out of that inlet, but I hear it can be rough at times. Curious what do they get for a slip at Ocean Beach Marina? Thx

B_Darling

Reaction score
Model
Adventure
Thanks for the info. OBM gets $100/ft with a 10% discount for new customers. I know i can find places half the price elsewhere, but the proximity of the marina to the family beach house was the reason i chose it. Do you ever take your boat offshore?

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265