Cost of gel coat

sneakattack

Reaction score
Trying to find someone that knows rough cost to have the cockpit floor re gel coated with the diamond pattern non skid on an 03 Marlin?

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
Best way is going to be to call around for some quotes. This type of work can vary GREATLY from one area to another (your signature doesn't show your location). Count on it being in the thousands, though.

Have you though about painting the deck with a non-skid paint? It's easy to do, will look good, will last a decent amount of time and is very easy to re-apply when needed. Tape off and paint JUST the non-skid area for a nice look. Use a different color (grey or tan always looks nice) if you want.

Reactions: sneakattack

VeroWing

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I believe that the "diamond pattern" on our cockpit floors is established in the forms used to build boat, then gelcoat is first sprayed into form followed by fiberglass. Not really sure if it can be duplicated from the outside in, but maybe somebody knows.

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
You're pretty much correct. But there are companies that make rubber molds - think of "stamped concrete" - and it will make sense. It takes effort to do this, though - especially on a large scale.

Edit: Oh, some people will make their own molds, too. Go look at the first post in the "Tips" section of this forum... you never know what info is available till you look! :)

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
Its a pain. You have to sand off the old diamond. It has to be pressed in while the gelcoat is wet. Doing an entire deck is really a pain.

There are other ways to get a non-skid into new gelcoat...with texture sprinkled in or by glass bead blasting....just not diamond pattern.

Paint is easier and easier to fix later.
Some people have had success with various truck bed liner coatings.