Draining 4Stroke engine oil

Yamama

Reaction score
Model
Freedom 255
Anyone got a simple trick or use a product which catches the engine oil when draining a 4 stroke. I make a big mess every time I do it. What I really need is some sort of bucket that can hang off the back of the upper engine near the flexible drain tube.

Hookup1

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Yamaha Oil changing

I would like to change the oil this season with the boat in the water. Can the oil be pumped out of the engine? Possibly using the dipstick?

Lainie J

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Oil drain

I use the Tempo fluid extractor. It works great and made for the dip stick. It will hold all the oil and will drain in about 15 minutes. I have been using since 2002 with my four bangers and it is the best out there. It cost about $59.00 or so and will last a long time. Dont waste your money on the electric or drill pumps, this unit does the job very effectively.

wrobinson

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I use the same extractor and it does the job. I always pump all I can then drain the last little bit from the drain plug.

You can change the oil in the water, but since the lower unit needs to be changed at the same time I always pull my boat out and do them together.

I bought a roll of this stuff http://www.newpig.com/webapp/wcs/stores ... _-1_106085

and it is great to put down so you don't spill anything in the parking lot. My marina is helping me out by letting me work on the boat there and I don't want to lose my privleges. It also helps catch any oil that may spill when you remove the oil filter.

Lainie J

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Oil

I change the engine oil every 50 hours, so i do it in the water through the dip stick. When I pull the boat at the end of the season I use the drain plug and do the lower unit oil. I don't pull the boat mid season for the oil, too costly.

Legend

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish