Fisherman 222 Scuppers

Gross Profit

Reaction score
On the 222 I bought, the 4 scuppers plumbed to the floor drains (not the 2 larger ones in the motor well) need to be replaced. I am now trailering only but the previous owner stored it wet and all 4 holes are plugged up with barnacles and the flaps are distorted. My question is this. Should I clean them up and just replace the flaps or should I replace the entire assembly? What about those ping-pong ball type replacements? Should I consider that type? At rest, should those scuppers be below the waterline? Any advice is appreciated.

Billy

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
How old ios the boat?? If it is mid 90's or older I would probably have the transom checked, those are known spots for transom rot to occur and often begin from. If it looks deteriorated, I would probably redo it all. I have no experience with the ping-pong flappers but have heard from a few who use them that they are not much better. The standard flappers should be fine if reinstalled correctly. Sounds like the previous owner did not pay a ton of attention to that area. There shouldn't be barnacles in that area, scuppers should be above waterline ideally. I would ask Jimmy from Jimmy's Marine who is a member of this forum, exactly how to go about replacing and fixing this situation

Gross Profit

Reaction score
It's a 1999 Model. Everything looks to be in really great shape although I have not had it professionally inspected. I can inspect inside from where they are and all looks very clean and dry. I would think (dangerous) that if they were leaky that I would see some evidence inside but I don't necessarily know what I'm looing at. Everything looks really great other than the barnacles growing inside there. These scuppers sure are low. It's hard to believe they would be very far above the waterline at rest by very far. If anyone has a '99 222 Fisherman please chime in as to where your scuppers sit when at rest.
Thanks

Billy