Fuel Cap 82 Offshore

Uncle Joe

Reaction score
Model
Offshore
Hello All.....this might be a silly question but I have been wrestling with this for a few years now. I bought a 1982 Offshore a few years back.....did a ton of work and I am very happy with the boat but......when I bought it the previous owner told me the aux fuel tank was no good and not to use it....the main had been replaced. Well, when I started to look at the aux tank I found it was pristine.....it was just full of bad gas and the tank selector switch was bad....disposed of the fuel....changed all lines....in and out and replaced the diverter valve. The last issue with the tank is that the fill cap was lost somewhere along the way and somebody cross threaded a metal cap on the forward inlet.
I have looked high and low for a replacement.....online....boatyards....called Grady...all with no success. Everything on this boat is non standard. Long store to get to a simple question.....can I just take the existing cap from the main tank to a 3D printing outfit and have one made? I know nothing at all about how they operate.
Thanks for your input.

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
The things on the boat ARE standard... but from 40 years ago. Things change. I've never done 3D printing - can't help with that question.

BUT... you have Marinium fixtures (cleats, fuel fill) - which are actually FANTASTIC stuff. The problem is that it got expensive to produce. Somewhere along the way, Perko bought the rights to and still manufacturers some of it. In the end, though, you just need to match up the diameter and thread. I'd have to think that a cap can still be found - but it might mean a little more time/research. Count the threads per inch and the diameter to compare.

Reactions: Uncle Joe

Captglasshole

Reaction score
Model
Offshore