How to Read a Fishfinder

TonyD

Reaction score
Hey! So, I am a rookie with these fancy electronics. When I bought my Grady 10 years ago, it came with a fish finder on it already installed and I didn't have to do anything and it worked. Although it was an old finder, black and white screen, I didn't have colors and cool features and pretty simple to user and read. But since it finally crapped out on me I went ahead and bought a Garmin echo 551dv. I also installed it myself. I followed the directions on how to install the transducer and it appeared I had it right.

But now I am in the water and I got a nice little rooster tail from the transducer. I have read that perhaps its too low. But before I start drilling more holes in my transom I'd like to know if that is really the solution - I'll start off with the image I see on my fish finder. I can't say if this looks right or not, seems like a lot of noise.. any help from anyone who can help a rookie out with their new electronics would be greatly appreciated! So - what in gods earth am I looking at here?? :)
(When I can, I'll put the boat on the trailer so I can get a shot of the transducer install to help with any info)

IMG_0526_zps1ueqvcpx.jpg
[/url][/img]

IMG_0520_zpsagsytrdp.jpg
[/url][/img]

IMG_0526_zps1ueqvcpx.jpg
[/url][/img]

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
The picture on the trailer will be more helpful.

These should all be in the directions, but a couple things come to mind...

-- The bottom of the ducer (front) should only just barely be below the bottom the hull - almost skimming. The aft end of the ducer should be very slightly below the front of the ducer.

-- It should be mounted in an area where there is "clean" water... not too close to a chine/strake/edge... and no thru-hulls in front of it. Also, not too close to the engine... usually at least a foot away.

Doc Stressor

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
Dennis gave you good advice. I'll just add: