Installing fish finder

brodie129

Reaction score
I have a Grady White 86 Overnighter and am replacing the original factory depth sounder with a Lowrance Mark 4. I know and have received input on taking the original wires from the depth sounder and attaching the new finder to the sounder wires and pulling the new wires up to the helm. Is there a larger opening since there will be a larger diameter wire and plug being fed up through there. Just wondering if anyone has had any problems feeding the wires up and what do the wires run into or whatever. Want no suprises getting it stuck along the way. Would appreciate any feedback with someone who has had experience running new wires. Thanks...I am new to this boat.

cgmiller

Reaction score
I put 2 new sounders in my Gulfstream so far...always pull strings in with wires you pull through a boat..at least 2....attach strings to the old sounder transducer cable and pull a string or 2 in with it..then pull the new sounder cable in with 1 of the strings. some dish soap helps sometimes....you may have to help the cable ends around some bulkheads..I had to do that in my boat..I could get my hands most places...good luck..dont pull too hard on the string as you may damage the cable end...

brodie129

Reaction score
thanks a lot for the information, maybe fish line would work? its stronger, lighter and has a higher tensile strength with less drag, I will try it I appreciate the info.....did you find going over the top of the transom was better than through it, I do have a hole there from the old one but, the cable end is larger will see how it works, just wondering.....

seasick

Reaction score
brodie129 said: