Livewell pump wiring

Bern73

Reaction score
Model
Escape
Hi all,

My boat, 1999 209 Escape CC. The livewell and bilge pump were not working when I purchased the boat. First thing I did was replace the bilge pump. The livewell I decided to wait on as I needed to pull the access panel and just wanted to get out fishing. Recently I decided that I needed to replace all the chaulk around the console, aft access panel etc so since I was going to do this, I decided to remove the panel and replace the livewell pump. I checked the pump and it was getting 12 V so decided the pump was bad. Removed and replaced. Connected the wires and nothing. Checked the pump by jumping it directly to the battery and pump ran. Checked the old power and ground wires, 12V. Ok connected to pump again and the voltage drops to zero. So as soon as you connect the wires (brown hot and black ground) to the new pump and hit the switch on console, voltage drops to zero. Now I'm stumped. I'm not an electrician but I am guessing this means a short in the power or ground wire between the switch and the livewell pump. Should I just run a new 14 gauge wire (red and black) between the rocker panel switch and livewell pump? Did some research and I believe that the power (hot) wire runs to switch and the ground wire to the ground bar in the console. Is this correct? I was going to try it first before I snake the new wire thru the boat. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Pete

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
Well, based on your description, if there was a short (or an open) it would have be there regardless of the new pump. But.. You say without pump there is 12volt on wiring with switch on and 0 v with switch off. Are you measuring across the pair of wires or are you using a nearby ground?

Did you test at the switch also?

yes the switch only has the +12. The black wires go to negative bus “somewhere “

Bern73

Reaction score
Model
Escape