Marine Head Inlet Seacock

jlflynn1

Reaction score
Model
Tournament 307
I am new to the Grady White forum, recently bought a 2009 Tournament 307 with 50 hours on her. (I had a Robalo R227 before, Four Winns before that and 1969 17" Tri-Hull as a kid growing up) The 307 was used on a fresh water lake and was kept high and dry in a boat house. Boat is very clean and is in good shape. I am going through the boat with a fine tooth comb, checking out every bilge hatch, trying to understand how this boat is constructed. The one major issue I am having is as follows:

I am getting this noise and vibration when I am underway at various speeds on plane, every time the boat hits a wave or goes up and down…. (Does not have to be rough out). The vibration almost sounds like when you put you turn your cell phone ringer off, and then the phone vibrates on the counter. I have narrowed it down to the marine head Inlet Sea Cock. (Although the vibration can be felt when you grab both the marine head inlet pipe AND holding tank discharge pipe) Yesterday I “opened” the marine head Inlet sea cock while we were underway at about 30 MPH and the noise / vibration 95% stopped. There was no change in the vibration/noise when I opened the holding tank discharge sea cock. So there is something going on with the marine head inlet Sea Cock. Any idea what is causing such a vibration while the sea cock is closed? Is it possible because this boat sat out of water for so long that some of the caulking dried out and the sea cock is vibrating on the hull? The head pump works fine too....water sucks in without a problem when the sea cock is open. Sea cocks do not appear to be leaking either. They seem a little damp from humidity and condensation but no leaking.