Marlin 4 blade prop rec...

NikM820

Reaction score
Model
Marlin
Instead of buying a spare set of 3 blades I want to just go ahead a pick up a set of 4 blades. I think I'm looking at the 15 diameter 19 pitch powertech. I usually run a pretty heavy boat and want more lower end cruising through chop efficiency than top end speed. Anyone have anything other than PT or different size they like/don't like?
Thanks
Nick

LeapFrog

Reaction score
What props do you have now??? mine are 17" pitch 3 blades... when you switch to 4 blades, you typically go with an inch or two less pitch... this will give you more low end torque and slightly less mph and still stay in the same WOT RPM range... I haven't made the switch yet, but will soon and likely get the PowerTech OFS4 in 15 or 16 pitch...
Not an expert, but have talked with several prop companies and numerous searches for as much info as I could... (since I'm an engineer I need to "know how things work!") :mrgreen:

NikM820

Reaction score
Model
Marlin
Thanks for that contact Devil. I called and talked to Ken, and he recommended the Merc Rev 4 blade in a 17 pitch. He assured me that putting a Mercury part on my Yamaha will NOT cause it to spontaneously combust :mrgreen: . I guess they have quick change hubs which sounds like a cool feature, no need for spare props then, just hubs :uhm . I will post some performance numbers in a couple weeks when I get them. Yesterday with the 3 blade 19s yamaha swsII, 300 gallons of fuel I was getting 5700 mildly trimmed at 47 MPH burning :bang...lets not talk about it.
thanks
Nick

ROBERTH

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Looking forward to the results. Also, can we talk about the fuel consumption numbers? Would be good to compare the cruise at rpm and compare difference.

devildogdad

Reaction score
yes fuel burn numbers when you can. I love my boat, it loves fuel. :bang

Tucker

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score