Need Help with Honda EU200I Hook Up

HDGWJOE

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I tried the EU200i generator on my Marlin for the first time this past weekend and my electric panel i the cabin read between 68 and 72 volts. Got out my volt meter and at the generator it read 127.5 v's ... plugged in a 25' 12ga extension cord and got same reading(127.5v) at output end of cord, added the Marinco 83A adaptor(15amp male/30am female) and still got same reading... ZERO voltage drop. Plugged the 83A into my shore power recepticle and my electric panel still shows 68-72 volts. I would automatically assume that the problem is between the boats 30amp recepticle and the panel box... BUT if that is the case why does the panel read OK when using shore power supply? I'm not an electrician so any and all suggestions welcomed. The 83A adaptor is brand new, so is the 12ga extension cord... could the connection between that and 30A boat recepticle be sloppy enough to have a voltage drop of that size? It really didn't feel any sloppier than the shore power cord. Thanks.

ocnslr

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
Joe, that is exactly how I connect our EU2000 to the boat. Everything gets powered up except the water heater. Never a problem.

We do not have any voltage indication on our AC panel - just the green light, master breaker and the individual feeder breakers. So no meter indication to compare with yours.

But I will say without any doubt that we are getting normal voltage throughout the boat's AC distribution system.

I will also say that you can't have that much voltage drop due to a bad connection - if you did you would have a LOT of heat and likely a fire.

Sorry not more help.

Brian

HDGWJOE

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score