Need New Thru Hulls on My '95 Adventure 208

smontgomery

Reaction score
Howdy.

Got my boat out on dry land for a few weeks.

I'm going to replace all of the thru-hull fittings. Several are cracked and leak. V-e-r-y slowly but they do leak.

Boat lives in the water most of the year.

any tips on doing the job right? Most folks say that I can bust them right with no problems. Uh-huh, right.

I think I'm going to use plastic again unless y'all want to talk me out of it and into stainless or titanium. Not sure which adhesive, I'll take advice on that too.

I'm new to Grady's. I'll take all the free advice I can get.

Thanks.

Steve

Curmudgeon

Reaction score
If you're gonna replace 'em, why put in something that will have to be replaced again somewhere down the channel? Do it with stainless and no owner of this boat will ever give 'em a second thought. Do it with plastic and someone better be thinking about 'em ... frequently. :?

CJBROWN

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I thought current production was chrome over bronze, but their specs say stainless. Either is better than plastic.

3M 5200 is the sealant for them. Consider replaicing the hoses and clamps as well, at least for the ones that are underwater.

Once you get the nut off you should be able to tap them out. The ones for the fish boxes are kinda hard to get to aren't they?

Grog

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Getting out the plastic ones is easy. If the nut doesn't want to come out, snap it off. SS or bronze is the way to go.

gradyfish22

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Most new boats manufacturers do not use plastic anymore since they rot from UV rays and the elements. If I were to go through that much work replacing them once, replace them with thru-hulls that will not need replacement again. SS or Bronze are the way to go, plus they make the boat look way better.

smontgomery

Reaction score
Stainless it is.