Ocean Running Question

sfc2113

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I have been using my 204 now for about 3 months, very happy with it. have been in all kinds of water on the backbays, rough, smooth,ect. figured out I have to slow down to just about planning speed to get throught real choppy stuff, Recently I had an opertunity to run out in the ocean on a fair day about 5 miles out. No wind swellls were 2-3 feet but like 9 sedonds apart, when going over the swell Heading into , the boat comes down pretty hard kinda slams in the water, even at slow rpms like 3200-3500 (21knot). Is this normal for this model boat to handle like this?, I am just concerened the slamming would result in damage hull to an older boat like this. or can ithe structure handle it? I usually run the calm seas about 4000-4500 rpm 32knots. The boat was surved and passed. Just wondering if this is normal type of water that 204 can run in.

Legend

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
I think you hull was pre SV design which was a much harder ride than the current models.

bdevlin5983

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
sfc2113 said:
I have been using my 204 now for about 3 months, very happy with it. have been in all kinds of water on the backbays, rough, smooth,ect. figured out I have to slow down to just about planning speed to get throught real choppy stuff, Recently I had an opertunity to run out in the ocean on a fair day about 5 miles out. No wind swellls were 2-3 feet but like 9 sedonds apart, when going over the swell Heading into , the boat comes down pretty hard kinda slams in the water, even at slow rpms like 3200-3500 (21knot). Is this normal for this model boat to handle like this?, I am just concerened the slamming would result in damage hull to an older boat like this. or can ithe structure handle it? I usually run the calm seas about 4000-4500 rpm 32knots. The boat was surved and passed. Just wondering if this is normal type of water that 204 can run in.