Operating Cost

Panzer Leader

Reaction score
All -
Am moving next summer to Tidewater, VA and was planning on buying a 20ish CC or DC for family fishing and pleasure. However, significant chance I could acquire a 2002 282 Sailfish w/ twin 200 Yam HPDI instead. I have never owned a boat, although I have owned a plane and therefore believe I have some knowledge of how to budget for ridiculously expensive personal transportation. I'm curious what it really costs to own a boat like this. I own a V8 4runner and know I won't be able to trailer a 282, so I'm giving up a lot of flexibility and buying into marina fees. But, without any upgrades (I would be getting this boat in great condition) how much can I expect to spend on annual maintenance? Insurance? Tow subscription? Taxes (in VA)? Gas/oil? Other costs? Would really like numbers I can compare with a 21er running a single 150 to 250 4stroke. Anyone help out on this? Got a handy Excel spreadsheet you would be willing to share? Thanks for any input.

Winged Pig

Reaction score