Radar Help

Cregan13

Reaction score
Model
Express 330
Can someone help me out with this? I have limited experience dealing with radar.

The 2006 vintage Furuno radar connected to my 2006 vintage Furuno Navnet has a particular quirk. When I am running down the ICW or any of the side channels it works like a champ. However, when I approach the ocean end of the inlet, the screen looks like a paint splatter. It looks like it is picking up 250 boats all around me. For clarity, there are not 250 boats around me when I leave the inlet. As I proceed offshore, it get's progressively better, but it takes a few miles before I can truly trust what I see on the screen.

What's up with that? Is it some sort of anomaly caused by a radar reflector on the Sea Buoy? Do I have to change settings once I hit open water?

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
If it is on Auto setting (clutter) it may have set to the nice flat calm ICW and It may take a while to reset based on the wave height of the ocean

Fishtales

Reaction score
file:///C:/Users/15088/AppData/Local/Packages/Microsoft.MicrosoftEdge_8wekyb3d8bbwe/TempState/Downloads/sensors-09-01913%20(1).pdf

More that you want, but if you understand it at the 50K foot level, then get the manual (online hopefully) for your unit, you should be able to adjust it. It sounds like it is tailored for the ICW. I would have thought that you would see nothing versus everything in open ocean though. Regardless, likely a setting issue on the plotter.

SmokyMtnGrady

Reaction score
That's clutter. I don't have that brand. Some may have an auto declutter or sea clutter mode . You can manually drop out the clutter by reducing the gain (power) and you can manually adjust it until it goes away, then you can see real boats, the jetties and buoys. My Garmin has a sea clutter mode, rain clutter and auto gain which can all be on or off and tailored to my needs at the time. Good luck.

Fishtales

Reaction score