Raising Engine

Tuna Man

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I finally took a ride on our 2002 209 today. I am almost certain the engine height could be raised at least one hole after running it for a few hours today. On the same subject, I've been considering raising the engines on our 300 for a few years now.

I'm hoping you guys could give me a little insight with regard to real world advantages of raising an outboard (or twins). I gather I'll gain a little speed (how much), increase fuel economy (how much), and increase WOT rpm (how much). I assume that if I end up raising too much the prop will easily blow out.

Please share your ideas, comments, etc.

Thanks

seasick

Reaction score
Tuna Man said:
I finally took a ride on our 2002 209 today. I am almost certain the engine height could be raised at least one hole after running it for a few hours today. On the same subject, I've been considering raising the engines on our 300 for a few years now.

I'm hoping you guys could give me a little insight with regard to real world advantages of raising an outboard (or twins). I gather I'll gain a little speed (how much), increase fuel economy (how much), and increase WOT rpm (how much). I assume that if I end up raising too much the prop will easily blow out.

Please share your ideas, comments, etc.

Thanks
There is no magical rule. If you motor is at the best height now, raising it can lead to poorer performance. Before anything, take a look at where the cavitation plate is relative to the water line at cruising speed and at proper trim. It should be a tad below the water, maybe an inch or so. If it is too high you will reduce thrust, create cavitation and add slip. Too high is worse than too low. The optimum height is dependent on a lot of factors and everything is a compromise.

Tuna Man

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score